Naomi Tydeman RI

Naomi Tydeman RI

Last saturday, I visited Tenby, and whilst I was there, I placed posters for the exhibition at various places. I also popped into the gallery of Naomi Tydeman to ask if if she would be willing to display a poster also.

What a wonderful lady!

She was very interested in hearing of my photography degree and our recent success in the “Harman Ilford Competition’
The next bit of conversation nearly blew me away….

‘Naomi Tydeman wins the Turner Watercolour Award at the RI Annual Exhibition’

We hugged each other and for me to say ‘Congratulations’ seemed inadequate!

Her award was presented to her by Turners great, great niece Rosalind Turner and the presidents of The Royal watercolour Society.

We agreed to keep in touch and Naomi may come to our exhibition at Oriel Q. WOW!

(Later before I left Tenby, I presented Naomi with a small bunch of flowers, it was the very least that she is so deserving of, well done.)

Naomi has inspired me to never give up with my photography.

On 4 April 2013 at the Mall Galleries, London. L-R: Anthony J Lester, Art critic, writer, fine art consultant, Naomi Tydeman RI, Turner Watercolour Award Winner, Mr Ronald Maddox, President of the RI and Thomas Plunkett, President of the Royal Watercolour Society and presenter of the Award.

A self-taught watercolour artist, Naomi Tydeman was elected to the RI (Royal Institute of Painters in Watercolour) in 2004. She lives and paints in Pembrokeshire where she has had her own gallery in Tenby since 1998. She has written articles for books and magazines and won several prizes for her work at a national level. She has recently been elected to the Council of the RI.

2013 Winner of the Turner Waterecolour Prize at RI Annual Exhibition
2012 Elected to the Council of the RI
2010 Winsor and Newton Prize
2008 John Blockley Prize
2005 Frank Herring Prize
2004 Elected to the RI
1998 Opened Naomi Tydeman Gallery, Tenby
1987 B.Ed.Hons, Trinity College

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment